Tralee Manor West Bicycle club

Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club is a cycling club based in Tralee, Co. Kerry ( arguably the best cycling terrain in Ireland! ). The clubs primary focus is road racing, and has built a very impressive racing pedigree since its formation. The club hosts the Lacey Cup, the  first Munster race of the Irish Road Racing calendar, and the Tralee GP, each year.

The 2012 season saw the club entering a new era, with Manor West Hotel becoming the new main sponsor, in addition to this, a completely new club kit was launched. Our racing ethos still remained the same, however also concentrating our efforts to develop a strong junior squad and hopefully discover a few rising stars.

The club now has over 90 active members across all age categories from U16 to Veterans. The club offers members structured training spins three times per week with focus on developing fitness, safety, group-riding and racing skills. The club organises regular training camps both locally and abroad. Educational evenings are also delivered by experienced individuals across a wide range of subjects including nutrition, strength and conditioning, training with power etc.


Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club Winter Training

Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club Winter Training


Club History

The Tralee Bicycle Club was officially launched in 1992. The original racing team was Paul Griffin, Seán and Brendan Lacey, Kieran McMahon (RIP, 2004), Thomas Hogan and John Dempsey. This team proved very successful with many victories to their credit. Each one of these riders wore the Green jersey for Ireland at one point in their racing career.


Paul went on to race in the professional ranks with Giant Asia where he distinguished himself as one the teams star performers. Paul raced with Giant Asia for several years before returning home where he races again with his home team Tralee BC. He has several All Ireland Hill Climb champions medals and is also the proud winner of a Rás stage. Paul has represented Ireland over 100 times from 1995 to 2011.

Paul winning the first stage of the 2005 Tour of East Java

Paul winning the first stage of the 2005 Tour of East Java

Paul representing the Irish National Team at the Ras

Paul representing the Irish National Team at the Ras

Club Member of the Year Awards

At the end of each year a presentation night is held for all club members. The Club member of the year award is presented on this night and the winners have been as follows:


2015      Tony Daly

2014      Chris Smailes

2013      Michael O'Callaghan

2012      Michael Mannix

2011       Barry Murphy

2010      Pat O'Hara